Popular in Articles


ICC WC2019

The ICC Cricket World Cup is the event is organised by the sport's governing body, the International Cricket Council (ICC), every four years, with preliminary qualification rounds leading up to a finals selection. The is considered the "flagship event of the international cricket calendar" by the ICC.


The first World Cup was organised in England in June 1975. A tournament involving multiple international teams had been held as early as 1912. The first three World Cups were held in England. From the 1987 tournament onwards, hosting has been shared between countries under an unofficial rotation system. The World Cup is open to all members of the International Cricket Council (ICC), although the highest-ranking teams receive automatic qualification. The remaining teams are determined via the World Cricket League and the ICC World Cup Qualifier. Australia has won the tournament five times, India and West Indies twice each, and Pakistan, Sri Lanka and England once each.

The 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup was the 12th edition of the Cricket World Cup, an international cricket tournament contested by men's national teams from the International Cricket Council. It was hosted by England and Wales from 30 May to 14 July 2019, making it the fifth time England and Wales have hosted the World Cup following the 1975, 1979, 1983 and 1999 World Cups. The final was played at Lord's on 14 July 2019. The first semi-final was played between the teams finishing first and fourth in the league, while the second semi-final was played between the teams finishing second and third. The top seven other teams in the ICC One Day International rankings as of 30 September 2017 earned automatic qualification, with the remaining two spots being decided by the 2018 Cricket World Cup Qualifier. New Zealand were the first team to announce their World Cup squad. The oldest player for the tournament was South African player, Imran Tahir who was forty years old while the youngest was Afghan spinner Mujeeb Ur Rahman who is eighteen years old.

The International Cricket Council declared a total prize money pool of US $10 million for the tournament. The winner team gets the price money of $4,000,000 and runner up team gets the money of $2,000,000 and the Losing semi-finalists gets $800,000 and Winner of each league stage match gets the price money of $40,000 and the Teams that do not pass the league stage will get $100,000.

The group stage format was a round-robin, where all 10 teams played each other once, in a single group. This meant a total of 45 matches were played, with each team playing a total of nine matches. Teams earned two points for a win and one for a tie or no-result (a minimum of 20 overs per side is needed to constitute a result). Matches in this stage had no reserve day set aside in the event of bad weather. The top four teams from the group progressed to the knockout stage. If teams were tied on points, then the number of wins and then net run rate was used to separate them. A similar format was previously used in the 1992 Cricket World Cup, though that tournament featured nine teams instead of ten.

In a dramatic end to the World Cup finals, England defeated New Zealand with more number of boundaries to lift the coveted trophy for the first time at Lord’s. As the 50-over clash ended in a tie, the match entered Super Over. England scored 15 off the six balls and New Zealand had to score 16 to get their World Cup dreams come true. But New Zealand managed to score only 15 as England won on the basis of the number of boundaries each team had hit during the match. Team India played a well disciplined way and they can finished the group stages of the tournament at the top of the points table. The New Zealand captain Kane Williamson awarded with the Man of the Tournament and Ben Stokes awarded with the Man of the Match award at the Lord's.